Amateurs (Amatörer)



Century Larkspur 3 Wed, Oct 9, 2019 9:00 PM
Film Info
Section:World Cinema
Eye on Sweden
Mind the Gap
Running Time:102 min.
Director:Gabriela Pichler
Producer:Anna-Maria Kantarius
Screenwriter:Jonas Hassen Khemiri
Gabriela Pichler
Cinematographer:Johan Lundborg
Editor:Johan Lundborg
Andreas Nilsson
Gabriela Pichler
Cast:Zahraa Aldoujaili
Yara Aliadotter
Fredrik Dahl
Print Source:Swedish Film Instiute
Note Writer:Victoria Jaschob


The picturesque Swedish town of Lafors has fallen on hard times: Once a thriving center of leather and textile production, outsourcing has shuttered the factories. In addition, the community’s demographics are changing: Immigrants, refugees, and the homeless are now part of the face of Lafors. To stimulate the job market, the town council decides to entice SuperBilly, a German cut-price superstore, into opening an outlet in Lafors. When councilman Musse enlists the help of high schoolers to create a promo film, the results are so hilariously bad that the town recruits a filmmaker from Stockholm. His efforts to portray the town as a bucolic Scandinavian paradise backfire badly, so plucky teenage BFFs Aida and Dana decide to take matters into their own hands, with surprising results. At once light-hearted and socially prescient, this delightfully charming and thought-provoking film is a meditation on globalism, the power of film, and what it means to "represent."

In honor of Anna Serner’s work as CEO of the Swedish Film Institute, MVFF42 will be presenting Serner with the Mind the Gap Award at the 10/4 screening of Gabriela Pichler’s Amateurs. More information here.

With support from:

Additional Information

A graduate of the School of Film Directing in Gothenburg, Sweden, Gabriela Pilcher won a Guldbagge Swedish national film award for her graduation project Scratches (2008). She made her feature debut with Eat Sleep Die (2012), winner of the International Critics’ Week Award and Critics’ Week Audience Award at the Venice Film Festival and Guldbagge Award for Best Direction and Best Screenplay. Her second feature, Amateurs (2018), received the Nora Ephron Prize at the Traverse City Film Festival.