The Whistleblower of My Lai


Sequoia 1 Thu, Oct 11, 2018 6:30 PM
Rafael 3 Fri, Oct 12, 2018 6:30 PM
Film Info
Category:Mind the Gap
Running Time:65 min.
Premiere Status:North American
Director:Connie Field
Producer:Connie Field
Gregory Scharpen
Cinematographer:Connie Field
Editor:Gregory Scharpen
Cast:The Kronos Quartet
Rinde Eckhert
Van Ahn Vo
Jonathan Berger
Harriet Chessman
Print Source:Clarity Films
Note Writer:Rob Avila


Hugh Thompson was more than a whistleblower. The 24-year-old major was a hero to most, a traitor to some, and a veritable angel to those whose lives he saved when, on March 16, 1968, he landed his Army observation helicopter to intervene at the site where US soldiers were murdering hundreds of Vietnamese civilians. Fifty years later, a group of artists with diverse connections to the Vietnam War collaborate on a chamber opera exploring the agitated soul of the 67-year-old Thompson during his final hours, as he reckons with his life and the disgraceful treatment he received at the hands of his army and government in the aftermath of the My Lai Massacre. Vivid archival images frame the rehearsals of the Kronos Quartet, composer Jonathan Berger, librettist Harriet Scott Chessman, renowned tenor Eckert and virtuoso Vietnamese instrumentalist Van-Anh Vo as they proceed toward a premiere through deeply stirring yet musically and emotionally challenging terrain.

Expected Guests: Director Connie Field; Producer Gregory Scharpen  (All Screenings)

Additional Information

Connie Field is an Academy Award®-nominated and Emmy Award®-winning director. Her most recently films are The Whistleblower of My Lai and Oliver Tambo (2017). Among her previous works are Al Helm: Martin Luther King in Palestine (2014); the eight-part series Have You Heard from Johannesburg (2010); ¡Salud! (2006); Freedom on My Mind (1994), for which she was nominated for a Best Feature Documentary Oscar®; and her directorial debut, the feminist classic The Life and Times of Rosie the Riveter (1980). She is a recipient of the John Grierson Award as most outstanding social documentarian, and a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship.